Recycling Now Comes With Coupons!

Boston has started giving its citizens an incentive for going green. Large recycling bins containing high tech equipment scan each household’s recyclables for a radio frequency ID tag and then weighs the amount recycled that week. This information is transmitted to a website that awards points that can be redeemed for discounts. “It’s like a frequent-flier program for recyclers.”

The system is ran by a company called RecycleBank who’s main premise is to turn trash into treasure. Their goal is to be serving 1 million people by the end of 2009. The company is very focused on going green and thought that more people would recycle if they could get something back for it.

SOURCE

xPirate gives a response: Gosh. I’m such a conflicting person. I’m very happy that this company is trying to encourage more and more Americans to recycle, but what pisses me off is that people feel they need incentive to do it! Is it not good enough that you are saving the Earth from the mass destruction that you are the direct cause of?

But I’m not going to bother all of you with my opinions on the stupidity of ignorant humans. I want to try and focus more on the technological side of these mechanisms. First of all, I didn’t know my recyclables are tagged with a radio frequency ID. Are people tracking my trash? And if so, why? I guess I just don’t fully understand that part of it. One question I have is, how much do you have to recycle to get a relevant amount of points? Because if you’re looking at needing a crap-ton of trash just for like $1 off some soda, that’s not very good personal gain. Of course, I don’t believe you should recycle for personal gain in the first place, so it doesn’t really matter.

Like what you just read?
Subscribe to the RSS feed

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One response to “Recycling Now Comes With Coupons!

  1. Pingback: Stolen Blog Entries? - Bloggeries Forum

Leave a Reply

